IT BEGINNER – HOW IT ALL STARTED


If someone had told me even a year ago I would be learning to fix computers and blogging about it I would have said “you don’t know me”. I use computers. I don’t fix them. I seldom read blog’s. I don’t have a Facebook account. I only have a cell phone and don’t text. Not sure what twitter is. Yep!! That’s me. But here I am for what it’s worth.

It all started back in January 2010. Invited a computer tech to my home for the sole purpose of fixing an annoying prompt (you have 30 days to renew, you have 15 days to renew, you have 1 day to renew, your security subscription has expired renew now) from my past Security program that wouldn’t go away. He came out. He got rid of it and added free antivirus and malware talked me into getting an online backup service and recommended more ram (memory) to make it go faster. I said sure and ordered the ram. He said to call him and it would take him 5 minutes to install.

And here is where it all started. The additional ram came in the mail but I couldn’t connect with the tech to get it installed. Then I thought “how hard can this be if it is going to take him 5 minutes“. Somewhere I had heard you could jump on YouTube and google “replace computer ram” and it would provide a video from someone somewhere who would show me how it is done. So I did. And I did (added the ram that is) but the computer stopped working.  Now let me back up a little. I can’t tell you how enormously intimidating it was for me to open the tower of my desktop computer, venture inside, look for the current ram based on the video instruction and add the new ram.  And then to have it not work what could I have been thinking. So then I decided I must need a new computer, mine was about 6 years old. So I went and bought a new computer.

I am not sure when it happened but I couldn’t get the instruction video out of my mind. But beyond that what stayed with me was the originators of that video BE YOUR OWN IT. Now, you have to admit a name like that is pretty enticing. It was for me. I began to think that maybe, just maybe I could learn to fix computers. And my journey started.

About iowamrs70

I am learning to fix computers
This entry was posted in Computers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

