ONLY A COMPUTER, NO LONGER A MOUNTAIN


To bring everyone closer to where I am today, I have been in the forum for 7 months. During this time I have gone from never looking inside a computer tower (How It All Started-~ remember the computer that wouldn‘t work~ it is now my test computer) to completely dismantling my  desktop computer, taking out every component and becoming familiar with what they are and what they do, cleaning and replacing the cooling compound on the CPU and putting everything back. And to my amazement everything worked.  If I had known I was going to be blogging about it, I would have taken pictures. But for now, you will just have to trust me or you could ask my husband. 🙂

I will never forget when my husband came down into the basement where I was working. The computer case was completely empty, the tower stripped and the makeshift tables that I had aligned in a single row were filled with disassembled computer components. All he said to me was “are you going to put that back together sometime”. I was a little hurt and, if the truth be known,  a little afraid  his implication that it couldn’t be done and I couldn’t do it might be spot on.  He was envisioning that it had now become fodder for the dumpster and I wasn’t too sure at that point that I could dispute him.  What was I thinking. What made me think I could do this. But I did. Slowly but surely just like a jigsaw puzzle every component, wire, connector, processor,  every memory stick, every fan, graphics card, sound card, the power supply, hard drive, CD player, DVD player found its way back into the tower.  I powered it up and with almost subdued elation experienced my first IT victory. This girl had won round 1.  And the best part,  the next time my husband was in the basement,  the tables were clean and the computer working and he couldn’t believe it. What a Kodak moment that was for me.  Boy, if I can do this anyone can.  I have heard it said more than once, if you want to learn to fix computers take one apart and put it back together. My next challenge was my non-working laptop.  And the victories keep coming.

About iowamrs70

I am learning to fix computers
This entry was posted in Computers, IT Beginners and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

