NNEP ( NoNewExperiencesPlease)


I was once given the tag NNEP by a man I knew years ago.  No New Experiences Please.  He knew me pretty well~~ I am a member of the  Black and White club after all.  This whole computer adventure has just been bursting with  new experiences. Things that use to make me run the other way, I am now embracing.  So many new experiences that have propelled me so far out of my comfort zone.  And I don’t think that is going to change any time soon.  However,  I am finding the further in I get, the less apprehensive I have become.

Even joining the forum was a new experience; a learning curve.  Thread, what the heck does that mean? I can’t even count the number of times I have been presented with a new term or a  familiar word with a different connotation. There must be some hidden club out there that develops the language.  Post, Public messages, Private messages, Avatar, icons (probably my favorite because I get to play with pictures) , “please enter the URL of your link”.  I now know what a URL is.

I have learned that the Web provides an unending path to a wealth of  computer knowledge right at one’s fingertips. What isn’t readily available on the forum, can be researched again and again just by making  use of  a search engine. The amount of resources that are free just for the searching or asking are just staggering to me; free anti-virus,  free screen savers, free defrag programs, free options in browsers. BeYourOwnIT has free videos and continues to add more.   I have even learned there are free options to Operating Systems other than Windows.  Who would have thought.  What do you want to learn?  If you are persistent and patient  and willing to move beyond your comfort zone, you will find your answers and the forums are great because there are people who give of their time, experience and knowledge freely to answer your questions.  There are even people who are completely self-taught just by taking hold of the resources I have mentioned.

Are you an NNEP who has been apprehensive about crossing  that imaginary boundary that keeps holding you back from a new experience? If I can do this. You can do this.  And soon you will find yourself  disassembling and assembling your computer for the very first time. And maybe our paths will cross in the forum. You will know more about computers than you ever have. But the best and most rewarding part, you  will find yourself having the knowledge to help others.  And for sure,  there will be no turning back and no end to the possibilities. It is amazing what happens when you can step out in Faith.

About iowamrs70

I am learning to fix computers
This entry was posted in Computers, IT Beginners, New Experiences and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to NNEP ( NoNewExperiencesPlease)

  1. Glad your feeling energized, after we get this run of filming done I am going to go crazy on videos for you all. I actually made the Ubuntu Install video last week but I haven’t had any time to post it yet.

    Some of the other guys have been asking for some networking videos and whatnot too. Hopefully I can oblige them as well.

  2. kizzytyler5 says:

    I’m proud of you. To step out of your comfort zone is how you live, not simply exist. I shattered my view of blacka and white long ago. It’s amazing how many different shades of grey there are. I came to a point where I said I would rather regret that which I did in preference to that which I did not. Keep it up because you are on the right path.

  3. The funny thing is, everything’s going to change in the next 100 years. The world will become more connected than ever, and of course, new terms will arise.

  4. Sarah Baram says:

    You should be very proud of yourself! Engaging in new and current Internet technology is quite the feat. This online world is consistently changing, and you must be sprinting to keep up. But, you seem off to a fantastic start. Keep it up!

  5. Michael Mjollnir says:

    I’m actually in a similar situation. For 20 years I have been playing instruments, painting, glass work, all of these things that I love and keeping it all to myself. I have never shared anything that I’ve created with people. It is with quite a bit of aprehension that I started my little blog and have just decided to push past my fears and jump in with both feet. I still get little flutters but will not let it stop me anymore. I hope that you will follow my little adventure as I will be following yours. Thank you for sharing and your kind words.

Leave a Reply

