WHAT’S IN YOUR CLOSET?? from this IT Beginner


When my mom passed away many years ago,  my sisters were left with the arduous but lovingly,  painstaking duty of going through a lifetime of her things. Among the many hats that my mom wore,  her  greatest pleasures were derived from sewing, knitting and crocheting.  So, it wasn’t a total surprise when the unearthing of her closet  brought forth skein upon skein of  lively colored yarns impulsively bought and whimsically set aside for a rainy day or a new project.

These pleasures of my moms, I can say without a doubt, were NOT passed on to me.  Oh, I have many talents, but none have fallen to any of these she loved. I was not, I am not now, nor will I ever be into crafts of any kind. No scrap booking, no knitting, no sewing, nada. I rather imagine when  my time is up in this world,  I envision my husband or other family members and  friends sorting through my lifetime of things and, most likely,  happening upon a closet  full of various computer components, parts, wires, notes, tools, case screws, old motherboards, more notes and computer books on how to build computers. Oh! the irony of it all.  How times have changed and I, somehow, have managed to change with them.

I am probably the only person I know who pays people to work on their computers ha!ha!  Well, it’s not quite like that.  But recently, I have purchased 2 custom-built non-working computers for the sole benefit of learning the IT trade.  In fact, I just received in the mail today my brand spanking new Corsair computer power supply to replace a non-working power supply and it was more than I paid for the non-working computer. All right, I know what you are all thinking. However,  I look at these purchases as an investment in my future.  My husband, however, may be viewing them as as a question of my sanity.  But, you see, if I am going to learn, I must have computers to work on. I also bought a non-working Dell laptop and my closet is filling up fast.  So far, my working computers consist of 1 desktop computer with  Windows 7 operating system, 1 test  desktop computer with Windows XP  and an Acer laptop with Windows Vista.

I hadn’t been in the forum very long  when  I posed the question “Is there such a thing as a COMPUTER-IN-A-BOX?”  It seemed as if all the forum members  had built or were building their own computers.  Being new and impetuous and the methodical person that I am (and also wanting to fit in, in a primarily male environment),  I thought, just maybe, there might be such a thing as a computer-in-a box.  Like a model airplane or model car that you can piece together.  Well, folks, I am here to tell you, there is. It is called  a Barebones Kit.  And there you have it. It wasn’t such a stupid question after all.

It is occurring to  me, the difference between my closet and my moms is, when my mom pulled out that yarn, she had acquired years of knowing EXACTLY what could be done with it.  I, on the other hand, am still figuring things out as I go.  As for my closet, hopefully,  I won’t be leaving this world any time soon.  My closet still has a story to tell and it isn’t finished yet.

About iowamrs70

I am learning to fix computers
This entry was posted in closets, Computers, IT Beginners, New Experiences and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WHAT’S IN YOUR CLOSET?? from this IT Beginner

  1. Sarah Baram says:

    I wish you the best of luck! When I was younger, my father built me my own computer from absolute scratch. It was a thing of beauty.

  2. thestorygurl says:

    Wow – I really envy your knowledge of computers! It’s nice to find that one thing in life, that you’re really good at, though… congrats!

  3. pienbiscuits says:

    I think you’re doing a great thing and I’m sure that once you’ve worked out the best methods, your job will be very well done. I use computers for work and play, as most people do now, but I’ve never taken one apart and put it together again, so fair play to you.

Leave a Reply

